h1

Greatest Love Story Meme

August 14, 2007

It’s a slow day at work, perfect for a meme. (I got this from Ted).

Legend:

I’ve read it
I want to read it
I’ve seen the movie*
I’m indifferent
I have it on DVD**
I want to marry the leading man/lady!

The list:

  1. Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë, 1847*
  2. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen, 1813**
  3. Romeo and Juliet, William Shakespeare, 1597**
  4. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë, 1847*
  5. Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell, 1936*
  6. The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje, 1992*
  7. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier, 1938*
  8. Doctor Zhivago, Boris Pasternak, 1957
  9. Lady Chatterley’s Lover, DH Lawrence, 1928
  10. Far from The Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy, 1874
  11. My Fair Lady, Alan Jay Lerner, 1956*
  12. The African Queen, CS Forester, 1935
  13. The Great Gatsby, F Scott Fitzgerald, 1925*
  14. Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen, 1811*
  15. The Way We Were, Arthur Laurents, 1972
  16. War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy, 1865
  17. Frenchman’s Creek, Daphne du Maurier, 1942
  18. Persuasion, Jane Austen, 1818*
  19. Take a Girl Like You, Kingsley Amis, 1960
  20. Daniel Deronda, George Eliot, 1876
  21. Maurice, E.M. Forester, 1971 (posth.)
  22. The Good Solider: A Tale of Passion, Ford Madox Ford, 1915
  23. The Goldbug Variations, Richard Powers, 1991
4 comments

  1. Call Dad–he got a great hard backed copy of War and Peace at Mrs. Cuddy’s yardsale and is reading it now.


  2. Thanks, mom. That’s great news about dad, but I’m definitely going to read a new translation the day I finally do read War and Peace.


  3. What did you think of Maurice? My interest was piqued by that book I read on obscenity trials in literature.


  4. imani, I love Maurice, and Forster in general. His writing is crisp and lovely, and the story is heartbreaking. Plus, thinking about it from the standpoint of obscenity is very fruitful. Strongly, strongly recommended.



Leave a Reply

