h1

Top Ten Short Stories

April 28, 2007

On Monday The Literate Kitten posted a ten favorite short stories list, and challenged others to do the same. Here’s what I’ve come up with.

I must confess that I am not a reader of short stories, generally, and therefore my list has a very Nortonesque flavor to it:

  1. “The Dead,” Joyce
  2. “Investigations of a Dog,” Kafka
  3. “Gimpel the Fool,” Singer
  4. “White Nights,” Dostoevsky
  5. “Revelation,” O’Connor
  6. “The Minister’s Black Veil,” Hawthorne
  7. “Cathedral,” Carver
  8. “Barn Burning,” Faulkner
  9. “The Diamond as Big as the Ritz,” Fitzgerald
  10. “A Perfect Day for Bananafish,” Salinger

Many of the items on my list also appear on tLK’s, which either means that we have similar taste, or that we both read the Norton Anthology…

5 comments

  1. I know some of those, although many I don’t — I love “Cathedral.”


  2. Boy, tell me about it. I’m not a fan of Carver as a whole, but “Cathedral” is formally perfect — and the tone!


  3. I’m familiar with Kafka and Dostoevsky’s mentions there but that’s it. I do believe I once read The Crack Rock as Big as The Ritz once though. I think it was in Rolling Stone.

    Oh, and Nortonesque. Very funny. I like Nortonesque but see what you mean.


  4. Oh, and Salinger too of course. I had to post again just for Salinger. Nine Stories just killed me when I was a teenager. I hope you went on to read the rest of his work. It’d be a good weekend project if you haven’t. Maybe after baseball finishes up for the season.


  5. Nortonesque or not, these are darned good stories. These were stories that I remembered off-the-cuff, without having to look up in a reference book…Memorable.
    I will have to check out the Singer.



Leave a Reply

