h1

Aquistions: March 2

March 4, 2007

On Friday (at my second favorite used bookstore) I picked up these two retro gems:

From all I’ve gathered, Ada is absolutely essential Nabokov reading, so I’m excited about picking up such a nice edition for a good price. It’s the third printing of the first edition (1969) and the hardcover itself has a great design. It will be a while before I get to this book, but it will look darling on my shelf in the meantime.

I also scored a bright blue copy of Malamud’s The Natural. Being that I’m a baseball fan of the first-degree, it’s surprising that I’m not more into novels about the game. The Natural is a classic, and it’s short enough that I’ll be able to read it as a break from bigger books — just in time for the arrival of baseball season (which I can begin to smell in the air here; it’s been in the 50s the past few days).

I also received not one but two copies of William Gaddis’ The Recognitions, which is the next book I’m going to tackle, having just finished Virgil. I know why I got two, but it was clearly a mistake. I ordered from abebooks.com, and my first attempt was cancelled because I made an error entering my billing information. So I ordered again, this time from a different seller, and that went through just fine. Some folks in Washington sent me the book anyway, even though I wasn’t able to pay for it. In retrospect, I’m glad I ordered again, since one of the copies is an ex-library book, and has goofy stickers and that odd plastic-casing that libraries (in this case, Teton County Library in Jackson, Wyoming) often use.

Since I received the copy on the right for free, I’d like to give it away for free. Just write me an email with your shipping address and I’ll send it off, hopefully sooner rather than later. (too late, Dorothy W. already won this haphazard contest, and will be receiving here copy sometime relatively soon)

7 comments

  1. I love Nabokov but haven’t yet read Ada — I’ll have to think about checking it out sometime. I hope you enjoy it.


  2. Ted:

    ‘Big Ideas’ podcasted a ‘Lolita’ lecture by a professor Nick Mount not long ago but long enough for it’s thesis to fade and fragment to nothing more than the thought that it might have had something to do with art’s (in)ability/(lack of a) duty to morally orientate it’s audience, which reminded my of an article by Weil (who thought moral orientation essential to artistic vocation), which reminded me of your paper on Eliot. Anyways, I assume the lecture’s still archived on iTunes (it was about a month ago, or just look for Nick Mount). -DS


  3. Awesome — I just listened to that lecture and enjoyed it immensely.


  4. Nice finds! I have to admit I’ve not read any of Nabokov’s fiction before. I plan on remedying that this year with Lolita. And I hope to give Gaddis a try someday too.


  5. Ditto what Dorothy said. And, I have The Natural. I’m not a big baseball fan, but I’m interested in this particular story. Plus, totally cool, mine has a photo of Robert Redford on the cover.


  6. Cool for you that it has a Robert Redford photo on it 🙂

    I’ll stick with my bright blue with baseball…


  7. I’ve been wanting to read “The Recognitions” for a while. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it.



Leave a Reply

