h1

Chunkster Challenge 2007

February 12, 2007

Even though the entry period is over, I’ve decided to join the Chunkster Challenge. I realize that I’m late to the party, but I had just started blogging at the time it was thrown down, so hopefully my tardiness will be forgiven.

It seems to me that if one is going to go big, one should go big in a big way — so here’s my list:

  1. The Aeneid, Virgil
  2. The Divine Comedy, Dante
  3. Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes
  4. The Recognitions, William Gaddis
  5. Infinite Jest, David Foster Wallace
  6. Underworld, Don DeLillo
  7. The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen

It’s a good mix of old and new, and I firmly believe that I’ll enjoy each book. I’m (relatively) nearing the end of Don Quixote, and have begun the Aeneid — so I’m off to a good start. I’ll probably dip into Underworld as I’m reading the Aeneid, and spread Dante over a long stretch of time so I can savor each canto.

Best of luck to everyone else who’s chunking.

8 comments

  1. Ted,

    No problem – glad you’re joining in! I’ve added you to the list and there’s no need to report back till June to let me know about your completed chunksters.


  2. Awesome! I hope that I can make good on my ambition.


  3. Let me know when you start Underworld. It might provide a second chance for talking about White Noise.

    I also have Infinite Jest but I think I’ll wait to see what you think of it before committing.

    I noticed you slipped to second closest library thing for a little while but are back in first place.

    The Fear and Trembling club keeps pretty modest dues of thirty pages a week so we won’t finish for a few more weeks but it’s already resurrected a rusty frustration/fascination so an SK biography and anthology have overtaken what reading plans I had. When I finish F&T anyways, I’ll send out an e-mail that will likely revise some themes from my other e-mail in a way that references some common textual ground. -Dan


  4. I’m not officially doing this challenge, but I do plan on reading some chunky books this year. I am absolutely determined to finish War & Peace that I started last year. It is easy reading really–there’s just so much of it. I also want to read Kristin Lavransdatter and Don Quixote. I think a group of people are going to read it maybe in the spring or summer, so you might try and coincide your reading with it then?


  5. That would be–a group are going to read Don Quixote.


  6. A great list. I’ve been planning on attacking Don Quixote myself this year. And I’m a big fan of The Corrections- I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


  7. Very ambitious — nice list! I’m not doing this challenge, although I probably could, what with the Life of Johnson and Don Quixote in this year’s reading pile.


  8. […] night I went to the bookstore with the intention of looking for some titles I needed for the Chunkster Challenge, and of course decided to browse for other things as well. My favorite used bookstore goes through […]



Leave a Reply

