h1

Fun with Lists: To Acquire

January 24, 2007

Where my Moleskine and my Amazon wish list meet:

Books to Acquire with the Hope of Reading Shortly Thereafter
(ranked according to preference)

  1. Pnin, Nabokov
  2. 300, Frank Miller
  3. What is the What, Dave Eggers
  4. Blood Meridan, Cormac McCarthy
  5. The Heart of the Matter, Graham Greene
  6. On Beauty, Zadie Smith
  7. Jimbo in Purgatory, Gary Panter
  8. The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen
  9. On the Nature of Things, Lucretius
  10. The Pursuit of the Millennium: Revolutionary Millenarians and Mystical Anarchists of the Middle Ages, Norman Cohn
  11. Armies of the Night, Norman Mailer
  12. Money, Martin Amis
  13. Possession, A.S. Byatt
  14. The Classical World: An Epic History from Homer to Hadrian, Robin Lane Fox
  15. Attonement, Ian McEwan

And that will do for now. Generally, I use lists like this while browsing the used bookstore, avoiding that moment when I step in and forget what I want — blinded by the glow of beauty. The list doesn’t include my search for a last few Saul Bellow books, or deciding what Henry James novel I’m going to read next, but it’s helpful just the same.

Any suggestions or comments are most welcome.

2 comments

  1. If we can ever find it, let’s read the Cormac McCarthy


  2. I love Henry James and have read a bunch of his novels but am glad I haven’t read them all so there are more to look forward to! He’s a pleasure I return to pretty regularly.



Leave a Reply

